Herbert Smith Freehills Open Moot

Recommended for second-year students and above.

In the Open Moot, students compete as counsel in an appellate matter in a superior court. Students prepare written submissions over a week and then make their oral argument before judges. The judges will question students on the law and fact surrounding a particular point of appeal.

In the Open Moot, teams are made up of two people (senior and junior counsel) and the teams are judged on their collective performance. Teamwork is key!

The competition is a fantastic stepping stone to other moots, such as the Administrative Appeals Tribunal National Mooting Competition and the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition.

Proudly sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills.

Previous Winners

Katie Warner
Charlie Bruce
Sam Leeson

Yvonne Whittaker-Rush
Stamatina Haliakis
Rebecca Cox
*Yvonne, Stamatina and Rebecca reached the quarter-finals of the National Championship Moot Competition.

Charlie Bruce
Ben Bishop
Charlotte Thomas

Rebecca McEwen
John Eldridge
Alice Wharldall
*Rebecca, John and Alice won the National Championship Moot Competition.

Lloyd Wicks
Warwick Ambrose
Rebecca McEwen

Lloyd Wicks
Warwick Ambrose
Michael Norris

David Jordan
Sanjay Schrapel
Nicholas Lum

Hannah Canham
Rachael White
David Jordan

Thomas Besanko
Micaela McLean